We are not alone

By Nahida

We are not alone
We –Palestinians- are not alone

Best of humanity… on our side

 Mighty truth… Gracious morality… on our side
Justice, dignity, human values, radiant hope 

 Are on our side
Soil, sand, and stones

Trees, poppies, lemon zest, and morning mist
Jerusalem sunshine and Jenin’s moonlight
Haifa’s Carmel and Jaffa’s shoreline

Are all on our side

We stand firm

As the stick of Moses

Splitting good and evil

Refusing to bow down

Our tragedy is a sieve

Filtering the wicked away
We all live and die…
Better die standing
Than to live crawling
Better to live with a wounded body
and a soul…whole
Than to live and die

with a disfigured soul 
Weighed down by oppression

Bent by corruption

Inflated by arrogance

Twisted by greed

Intoxicated by power
Better die standing
With a soul…whole
*****************
Love, salutation, and gratitude
To all the great pure selfless souls on board Flotilla


I am a Jerusalem-born Palestinian refugee living in exile for over 42 years. I was forced to leave my homeland, Palestine at the age of seven during the six-day war. I am a mathematician by profession. I started writing about three years ago when my friends insisted I should write about my memories, experiences, and feelings as a Palestinian. I did… but it all came out -for some strange reason- sounding -as I am told- like poetry! So I self published two books (I Believe in Miracles, and Palestine, The True Story. Write to me at: nahidaexiledpalestinian@googlemail.com.

http://poetryforpalestine.spaces.live.com/
http://uprootedpalestinians.blogspot.com/

