Leaving Palestine (poem)


Leaving Palestine

Whisper what in this life have I left, Mother?
Please don’t try to hold me back

In seeking dreams of promise I cannot go East or West, Brother
Please, don’t hold me down

There are no silver flights from here, Mother
So chained are my legs upon this sorrowed ground

Gilded vessels have no arrival to our shore, Brother
Anchored firm are we to shallows in the sound

Whisper what have I left in this life, Mother?
Nothing but futures of young now draw me on

In promises and dreams I cannot go North or South, Brother
Embarkation roads are only barriers now

Sleek paved routes belong to someone else, Mother
Our blood of decades spills and soaks in ancient sand

No one comes triumphant here to set us free, Brother
Fading clock ticks our end upon this dying land

Cold walls they’ve built all around, Mother
Yet I can hear so many…

View original post 145 more words

Leave a Reply

